Go Ahead and Sweat the Small Stuff

If you are going to achieve excellence in big things, you develop the habit in little matters. Excellence is not an exception, it is a prevailing attitude. ~ Colin Powell


I’ve been an admirer of Richard Carlson’s “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff” books for a long time.  But, there is a difference between “sweating the small stuff” and paying attention to the small stuff so it doesn’t become big stuff later on. Sure, “don’t sweat the small stuff” if it helps you stay focused on the big picture in life and what really matters to you.  But, do “sweat the small stuff” in life by attending to it soon enough and in an efficient and effective manner.  That way you will build something of real excellence and value and prevent something major later on. (God bless him, but I recently found out Richard Carlson died at only age 45 of a sudden heart attack on a plane a few years ago!)

So take some time this week and consider the little things you might not be paying enough attention to.  Here’s one I recently discovered — eliminating Internet and other automatic subscription charges from my bank account.  Many of these services I had enrolled in months ago and some I had forgotten about.  They were costing me anywhere from $2 to $15 a month. By finally paying attention to and eliminating these small charges, I removed over $45 of monthly expenses.  And, by “sweating” these small charges I was building greater habits of excellence in managing my bank account.  So go ahead and at least one day this week “sweat your small stuff.”  Take some time to clean up, refine, or improve some small area of your life.  The long term results will be worth it.


To your success!

Dr. Lisa Love

About Dr. Lisa Love

Best-selling author of BEYOND THE SECRET: Spiritual Power and the Law of Attraction, Attracting Real Love, and Thrive Not Survive!.  Life, Relationship, Law of Attraction coach. There’s a reason my clients tell me by working with me they get major breakthroughs fast!  Decades of coaching and counseling experience combined with my extensive training and work with clients from all backgrounds help my clients make shifts in a rapid way.  Discover what I can do for you.  Call now!   Plus, Email me about a variety of free gifts I can offer to you!

Leave a Reply

